2020 / 02 — February Issue of American Cinematographer

Regular price $5.95 USD

Free delivery and shipping

Secure online payment

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker
Dan Mindel, ASC, BSC, SASC and director J.J. Abrams returned to the galaxy far, far away to bring the third trilogy in the Star Wars saga to a thrilling close. AC visited the production onstage in the U.K.; our coverage will offer readers a tour of the set while also detailing Mindel’s creative approach to the entire project, which was photographed on 35mm and 65mm motion-picture negative.
The Mandalorian
Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS and Barry Idoine shared cinematography duties for this Disney+ streaming series set in the Star Wars universe. Executive producer Jon Favreau worked with episodic directors Deborah Chow, Rick Famuyiwa, Dave Filoni, Bryce Dallas Howard and Taika Waititi to tell the story of the eponymous gunfighter (played by Pedro Pascal) as he navigates the lawless outer reaches of the galaxy. The filmmakers will offer an in-depth look at the cutting-edge technology behind the series.
ASC Lifetime Achievement Award
Frederick Elmes, ASC’s feature work includes multiple films for directors David Lynch, Ang Lee and Jim Jarmusch. The cinematographer won Independent Spirit Awards for Night on Earth and Wild at Heart, and earned a third nomination for Blue Velvet. He has also shot acclaimed television projects, receiving an Emmy for his work on the HBO miniseries The Night Of, as well as a nomination for In the Gloaming. His TV credits also include the HBO limited series Olive Kitteridge as well as the Hulu/Legendary Television miniseries The Looming Tower. His upcoming work includes the John Turturro-directed feature The Jesus Rolls.
ASC Career Achievement in Television Award
Donald A. Morgan, ASC is a nine-time Primetime Emmy winner, and he has photographed such indelible TV favorites as Girlfriends, My Wife and Kids, Home Improvement and Last Man Standing — over 100 episodes of each. In addition to episodic TV, Morgan has shot telefilms and specials including a decade of live shows for the NAACP’s Image Awards. From the start of his career, he has been known for consistently pushing to have diverse crews, and he is inspiring others to do the same in his role as Chairman of Diversity at IATSE Local 600 and as a member of the ASC Vision Committee.
ASC International Award
Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC is a five-time Oscar nominee, having been recognized for Darkest Hour, Inside Llewyn Davis, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, A Very Long Engagement and Amélie. He studied philosophy before transitioning to filmmaking and has built a body of work that also includes The Ballad of Buster Scruggs, Francofonia, Big Eyes, Dark Shadows, Faust and Across the Universe. His upcoming projects include the features The Woman in the Window, directed by Joe Wright, and Joel Coen’s adaptation of Shakespeare’s Macbeth.
ASC Presidents Award
Don McCuaig, ASC is a veteran cinematographer of both television and motion pictures, and he has shot 2nd unit on features including 2012, Get Smart, National Security, The Nutty Professor and Bruce Almighty. His career began in the staging department at NBC on The Andy Williams Show; he transitioned to electronic broadcast at ABC before becoming a newsreel and sports photojournalist for the CBC and Montreal Olympics. A former governor of the Television Academy, McCuaig teaches numerous ASC Master Classes, and his dedication to the Society has also led him to serve in recent years as chair of the Awards Committee.


You may also like