Our First 100 Years: Expanded Second Edition

Regular price $100.00 Sale price $75.00 USD

Free delivery and shipping

Secure online payment

Our First 100 Years

Expanded Second Edition


Published by the ASC Press, this album-size hardback book chronicles the history of the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) in celebration of the organization’s centennial (1919-2019), with profiles on its 15 founders and many outstanding members who have photographed classic feature films, television shows and other motion-picture projects.


With 204 pages, this expanded second edition of Our First 100 Years adds new profiles and more rare photographs, including a special presentation of 50 new ASC members inducted since 2019 — who will help shape the organization for the next 100 years.


Illustrated with hundreds of behind-the-scenes images — curated and restored by Charlie Lieberman, ASC and printed in duotone for exceptional image quality — Our First 100 Years offers an insightful look at renowned ASC members and their crews at work on sets and locations during every decade since 1919. The accompanying text details their artistic influences, creative collaborations and technologies that helped shape the past century of motion-picture history.


Featured ASC cinematographers include Néstor Almendros, John A. Alonzo, Michael Ballhaus, George Barnes, Robert Burks, Michael Chapman, Stanley Cortez, Allen Daviau, George Spiro Dibie, Linwood Dunn, Arthur Edeson, George Folsey, William A. Fraker, Karl Freund, Burt Glennon, Burnett Guffey, Conrad L. Hall, Gerald Hirschfeld, John Hora, James Wong Howe, Halyna Hutchins, Judy Irola, Boris Kaufman, Richard H. Kline, László Kovács, Milton Krasner, Charles B. Lang, Ernest Laszlo, Andrew Lesnie, Joseph MacDonald, Rudy Maté, Russell Metty, Arthur C. Miller, Hal Mohr, Brianne Murphy, Nicholas Musuraca, Hal Mohr, Sol Negrin, Sven Nykvist, Miroslav Ondříček, Sol Polito, Ray Rennahan, Harold Rosson, Giuseppe Rotunno, Joe Ruttenberg, Harris Savides, John F. Seitz, Leon Shamroy, Harry Stradling Sr., Karl Struss, Robert L. Surtees, Gregg Toland, Leo Tover, Joseph Walker, Haskell Wexler, Gordon Willis, Vilmos Zsigmond, and many more.


Curated by American Cinematographer publisher David E. Williams, the biographies were researched and written by AC staff and contributors, as well as former ASC president Richard Crudo — resulting in one of the most comprehensive surveys of cinematographers ever published.


This new second edition is limited to 1,000 copies.

You may also like